VCU Rice Center

Photo of James River

Research and instructional faculty

Paul Bukaveckas
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
River and Ecosystems Ecology
Email: pabukaveckas@vcu.edu

Bonnie Brown
Department of Biology
Ecological genetics; aquaculture
Email: blbrown@vcu.edu

Lesley Bulluck         
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
Avian ecology
Email: lpbulluck@vcu.edu

Kevin Caillouet
Center for Environmental Studies
Human-insect disease ecology
Email: kacaillouet@vcu.edu

Jennifer Ciminelli
Center for Environmental Studies
Environmental data management
Email: s2jmcim@vcu.edu

Vickie Connors
Center for Environmental Studies
Atmospheric science
Email: vsconnors@vcu.edu

Edward Crawford
Department of Biology
Wetland ecology
Email: ercrawford@vcu.edu

Peter deFur
Center for Environmental Studies
Ecological risk assessment
Email: pldefur@mail1.vcu.edu

Rodney Dyer
Department of Biology
Population & landscape genetics
Email: rjdyer@mail1.vcu.edu

Arthur Evans
Smithsonian Institution; Virginia Museum of Natural History; Department of Biology
Entomology
Email: arthurevans@verizon.net

Michael Fine
Department of Biology
Fish neurobiology
Email: mfine@atlas.vcu.edu

Rima Franklin
Department of Biology
Microbial ecology
Email: rbfranklin@vcu.edu

Greg Garman
Director, Center for Environmental Studies
Fish ecology
Email: ggarman@atlas.vcu.edu

Chris Gough
Department of Biology
Forest ecology
Email: cmgough@vcu.edu

Holly Houtz
VCU Rice Center
Environmental outreach education
Email: houtzhs@vcu.edu

Derek Johnson 
Department of Biology
Population and invasion biology
Email: dmjohnson@vcu.edu

Leigh McCallister
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
Aquatic biogeochemistry
Email: slmccalliste@vcu.edu

Daniel McGarvey
Center for Environmental Studies
Fish ecology and environmental policy
Email: djmcgarvey@vcu.edu

Stephen McIninch
Center for Environmental Studies
Fish ecology
Email: spmcinin@vcu.edu

Robert Reilly
Department of Economics
Avian biology
Email: rjreilly@vcu.edu

Will Shuart
Center for Environmental Studies
Environmental data management
Email: wshuart@vcu.edu

Arif Sikder
Center for Environmental Studies
Fluvial sedimentology
Email: amsikder@vcu.edu

Leonard Smock
Director, VCU Rice Center and Department of Biology
Aquatic ecology
Email: lsmock@vcu.edu

Cathy Viverette
Center for Environmental Studies
River and avian ecology
Email: s2cvive@vcu.edu

James Vonesh
Department of Biology
Population & community ecology
Email: jrvonesh@vcu.edu

Bryan Watts
Director, Center for Conservation Biology
Avian ecology
Email: bdwatt@wm.edu

Anne Wright
Coordinator, Environmental Outreach Education
VCU Rice Center and Department of Biology
Outreach education; aquatic ecology
Email:  abwright@vcu.edu

Donald Young
Chairman, Department of Biology
Plant ecology
Email: dyoung@vcu.edu

Julie Zinnert
US Army Engineer Research & Development Center & Department of Biology
Plant ecophysiology and remote sensing
Email: julie.c.naumann@usace.army.mil