CTE
CTEVirginia Commonwealth UniversityCenter for Teaching ExcellenceCTE
CTE HomeAbout the CTEProgramsWorkshopsResourcesWhat's New
CTE
Bookmark This Site CTE Site Map Printer Friendly Text Size:SmallNormalLargeExtra Large
  Resources

Faculty Expertise Database: By Subject

 

Active Learning Techniques

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Arancibia, Carlos Anesthesiology 828-6975 cuaranci@vcu.edu
Burton, David Art Education 828-1996 deburton@vcu.edu
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Lambie, Rosmary Educational Studies 828-1332 ralambie@vcu.edu
Lewis, Robert Psychiatry 767-4458 relewis1@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu

 

Balancing Demands of Pre-Tenured Faculty

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Arancibia, Carlos Anesthesiology 828-6975 cuaranci@vcu.edu
Browder, Laura English 828-1331 lbrowder@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Cummins, Patricia Foreign Languages 828-2200 pcummins@vcu.edu
Desai, Umesh Medicinal Chemistry 828-8486 urdesai@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Miller, Gerald Biomedical Engineering 828-7263 gemiller@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu
Parham, Iris Gerontology 828-9060 iaparham@vcu.edu
Sterling, Richard Internal Medicine 828-4060 rksterli@vcu.edu
Stewart, Jennifer Biology 828-0650 jkstewar@vcu.edu
Stoesz, David Social Work 703-768-7164 dstoesz@vcu.edu

 

Blackboard

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Desai, Umesh Medicinal Chemistry 828-8486 urdesai@vcu.edu
Diegelmann, Robert Biochemistry 828-9677 rfdiegel@vcu.edu
Hellman, Larry General Practice (Dent.) 828-2977 lfhellma@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu
Sarkozi, Gary Continuing Education 828-1322 gwsarkoz@vcu.edu
South, Jeff Mass Communications 827-0253 jcsouth@vcu.edu

 

Classroom Management

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Gowdy, Robert Physics 828-1821 rhgowdy@vcu.edu
Newmann, Bill Political Science 828-8038 wnewmann@vcu.edu

 

Cooperative Learning

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Huvard, Gary Chemical Engineering 827-7000 gshuvard@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu

 

Course Evaluation and Assessment

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu

 

Creating & Grading Writing Assignment

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Cummins, Patricia Foreign Languages 828-2200 pcummins@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Kinney, Jim English 828-6485 jkinney@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu

 

Creating a Teaching Portfolio

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Cummins, Patricia Foreign Languages 828-2200 pcummins@vcu.edu
Kinney, Jim English 828-6485 jkinney@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu

 

Creating a Syllabus

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Diegelmann, Robert Biochemistry 828-9677 rfdiegel@vcu.edu
Gowdy, Robert Physics 828-1821 rhgowdy@vcu.edu
Huvard, Gary Chemical Engineering 827-7000 gshuvard@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Kinney, Jim English 828-6485 jkinney@vcu.edu
Lambie, Rosmary Educational Studies 828-1332 ralambie@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu
Newmann, Kathryn Political Science 828-8038 wnewmann@vcu.edu
Sterling, Richard Internal Medicine 828-4060 rksterli@vcu.edu

 

Developing a Research Program

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Arancibia, Carlos Anesthesiology 828-6975 cuaranci@vcu.edu
Browder, Laura English 828-1331 lbrowder@vcu.edu
Corey, Linda Human Genetics 828-8759 lacorey@vcu.edu
Desai, Umesh Medicinal Chemistry 828-8486 urdesai@vcu.edu
Meloy, Linda Pediatrics 828-3530 ldmeloy@vcu.edu
Simpson, David Anatomy & Neurobiology 225-4099 dgsimpso@vcu.edu
Sterling, Richard Internal Medicine 828-4060 rksterli@vcu.edu
Stewart, Jennifer Biology 828-0650 jkstewar@vcu.edu
Wu, Fang-Sheng Biology 828-0755 fwu@vcu.edu

 

Developing Tests & Exams

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Gowdy, Robert Physics 828-1821 rhgowdy@vcu.edu
Newmann, Bill Political Science 828-8038 wnewmann@vcu.edu

 

Facilitating Group Discussions

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Arancibia, Carlos Anesthesiology 828-6975 cuaranci@vcu.edu
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Cummins, Patricia Foreign Languages 828-2200 pcummins@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Lanier, Jack Preventative Medicine 828-3258 jolanier@vcu.edu
Lewis, Robert Psychiatry 767-4458 relewis1@vcu.edu

 

Obtaining External Funding

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Browder, Laura English 828-1331 lbrowder@vcu.edu
Corey, Linda Human Genetics 828-8759 lacorey@vcu.edu
Desai, Umesh Medicinal Chemistry 828-8486 urdesai@vcu.edu
Miller, Gerald Biomedical Engineering 828-7263 gemiller@vcu.edu
Parham, Iris Gerontology 828-9060 iaparham@vcu.edu
Simpson, David Anatomy & Neurobiology 225-4099 dgsimpso@vcu.edu
Sterling, Richard Internal Medicine 828-4060 rksterli@vcu.edu
Stewart, Jennifer Biology 828-0650 jkstewar@vcu.edu

 

Problem Based Learning

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Arancibia, Carlos Anesthesiology 828-6975 cuaranci@vcu.edu
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Hellman, Larry General Practice (Dent.) 828-2977 lfhellma@vcu.edu
Lewis, Robert Psychiatry 767-4458 relewis1@vcu.edu
Miller, Gerald Biomedical Engineering 828-7263 gemiller@vcu.edu

 

Promotion and Tenure Advice

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Browder, Laura English 828-1331 lbrowder@vcu.edu
Burton, David Art Education 828-1996 dburton@vcu.edu
Corey, Linda Human Genetics 828-8759 lacorey@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Donnell, Cynthia Music 828-4017 csdonnel@vcu.edu
Hirsch, Herbert Political Science 828-8052 hhirsch@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Kinney, Jim English 828-6485 jkinney@vcu.edu
Lambie, Rosmary Educational Studies 828-1332 ralambie@vcu.edu
Meloy, Linda Pediatrics 828-3530 ldmeloy@vcu.edu
Miller, Gerald Biomedical Engineering 828-7263 gemiller@vcu.edu
Parham, Iris Gerontology 828-9060 iaparham@vcu.edu
Stoesz, David Social Work 703-768-7164 dstoesz@vcu.edu

 

Service Learning

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Howard, Catherine Off. of Community Programs 828-8790 choward@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu
Rankin, Daphne Sociology 828-6519 dlrankin@vcu.edu
Sarkozi, Gary Continuing Education 828-1322 gwsarkoz@vcu.edu

 

Student's Critical Thinking Skills

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Coleman, Earle Philosophy 828-1224 ejcolema@vcu.edu
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Hutchison, Elizabeth Social Work 823-4137 ehutch@mail2.vcu.edu

 

Teaching Students with Disabilities

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Getzel, Elizabeth Professional Development Academy 828-1851 eegetzel@vcu.edu

 

Teaching Large Classes

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Churn, Ben Neurology 828-0290 sbchurn@vcu.edu
Gowdy, Robert Physics 828-1821 rhgowdy@vcu.edu
Hirsch, Herbert Political Science 828-8052 hhirsch@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Newmann, Bill Political Science 828-8038 wnewmann@vcu.edu
Rankin, Daphne Sociology 828-6519 dlrankin@vcu.edu
Sterling, Richard Internal Medicine 828-4060 rksterli@vcu.edu

 

Teaching with Technology

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Gowdy, Robert Physics 828-1821 rhgowdy@vcu.edu
Forsyth, Don Psychology 828-6754 jforsyth@vcu.edu
Murphy-Judy, Kathryn Foreign Languages 828-2200 kmurphyj@vcu.edu
Sarkozi, Gary Continuing Education 828-1322 gwsarkoz@vcu.edu
Simpson, David Anatomy & Neurobiology 225-4099 dgsimpso@vcu.edu
Smith, Fran Education 827-1406 fgsmith@vcu.edu
South, Jeff Mass Communications 827-0253 jcsouth@vcu.edu
Wu, Fang-Sheng Biology 828-0755 fwu@vcu.edu

 

Universal Design

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Smith, Fran Education 828-1406 fgsmith@vcu.edu

 

Using Diversity in the Classroom

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Condit, Deirdre Political Science 828-1575 dcondit@vcu.edu
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Creighton-Zollar, Ann Sociology 828-6205 aacreigh@vcu.edu
Lanier, Jack Preventative Medicine 828-3258 jolanier@vcu.edu

 

Writing Scholarly Articles

Name Department Phone # E-mail
Cramer, Elizabeth Social Work 828-9029 epcramer@vcu.edu
Cummins, Patricia Foreign Languages 828-2200 pcummins@vcu.edu
Hirsch, Herbert Political Science 828-8052 hhirsch@vcu.edu
Ingrassia, Catherine English 828-4463 cingrass@vcu.edu
Kinney, Jim English 828-6485 jkinney@vcu.edu

 

   

top
 
Virginia Commonwealth University | Center for Teaching Excellence
Last modified: June 20, 2013
Contact webmaster
  Academic Learning Commons
1000 Floyd Avenue, Suite 4102
Richmond, VA 23284
(804) 828-4470